This Week’s Featured Fiction Author

Jennifer Dornbush

Jennifer Dornbush is a screenwriter, author, speaker, and forensic specialist based in LA who aims to shed light and hope in the dark places of the human experience.


The television or movie screen is the closest most people will ever come to witnessing the forensic world. But Jennifer actually lived it. As a daughter of a medical examiner whose office was in their home, she investigated her first case, an airplane crash, when she was 8 years old, picking up pieces of skull and brain matter with her father who simply saw it as an anatomy lesson.


This would be the first of many coroner lessons she experienced over two decades.


After careers in journalism and teaching, Jennifer turned seriously to screenwriting where she began to connect her coroner world to her writing world. She sought out a degree at the Forensic Science Academy in Los Angeles to gain more forensic training and earn the friendship of LA’s top CSIs, fingerprint specialists, DNA scientists, and detectives.


She has several TV crime drama series in development. She was hired to pen a crime thriller pilot, adapted a YA novel to script, and wrote the theatrically released film and novel, God Bless the Broken Road.


As a forensic consultant, she is frequently asked to consult with TV writers on shows such as Bull, Conviction, Hawaii Five-O, Leverage, Suits, and Rectify.


She authored Forensic Speak: How To Write Realistic Crime Dramas and her first mystery novel, The Coroner, released in 2018. The second in the series, Secret Remains, will be released in 2020.


Jennifer frequently speaks internationally on crime fiction and forensics. She has hosted webinars on writing through Writer’s Digest, The Writers Store, and Script Magazine.


Teaching remains in her blood as she teaches for several universities and mentors aspiring writers from around the world. Jennifer is a member of the Writers’ Guild of America, Sisters in Crime, and the Mystery Writers of America.


Website: https://www.jenniferdornbush.com

Twitter: https://twitter.com/jgdornbush

YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCor1wCA4LKCNQvp-APtjHZg


About The Secret Remains

A cold case murder, a grisly discovery, and a viper's nest of resentment, betrayal, and dirty secrets converge in this mystery perfect for fans of Kathy Reichs and Jayne Ann Krentz.


It's been 12 years since Sandi Parkman went missing after being dropped off at home by her schoolmate, Nick Larson, now the Sheriff of Freeport, Michigan. When a construction crew unearths Sandi's bones—along with Nick's letterman jacket and one of his hairs—Nick becomes suspect number one in the murder.


Dr. Emily Hartford, the daughter of Freeport's medical examiner, is called in to investigate, but the case is about to get personal. Nick was Emily's high school love, and now she has to either clear his name—or contend that he's the killer.


As she delves into the case, a host of other suspects emerge a coterie of Nick's jock friends from high school; Sandi's sister, Tiffany, now a dancer at a local strip club; and James VanDerMuellen, a trust funder who's recently returned to Freeport.


As the autumn skies darken over Freeport and the holiday season looms, Emily must sift through more than Sandi's brittle bones to solve the case. Can she exonerate Nick—and rekindle their long-smoldering romance? The race is on to find the truth.

Meet Our Pre-Published Authors